Posted by Una Daly Una Daly

Niagara Falls Rosalba Tarazona CC-BY-SA 2.0

Last week, many of us were fortunate enough to attend #OpenEd18, a wonderful celebration of the work of the open education movement with representatives from all K-20 levels this year.   I had an opportunity to see and hear many inspiring presentations and keynotes and learned a great deal that I hope to put into practice this coming year.

Quill West, our CCCOER Council President, and I also had the opportunity to recognize a few of our amazing community members whose contributions epitomize the best about open education.  CCCOER is a vibrant growing community of practice precisely because of our members and others in the open education movement who support our mission to improve student success through promoting open educational policies, practices,  and resources to enhance learning.  We would like to thank again the following:

CCCOER CRA Awards 2018

James Glapa-Grossklag, Dean of Distance Education, the Library, and Educational Technology at College of the Canyons and longtime leader in CCCOER and the Open Education Consortium (OEC). Formerly the president of the CCCOER Council, he served as the president of the OEC board where he is now the treasurer. He has continued to provide leadership and guidance to CCCOER throughout this time and is one of our TOP 5 Community Email contributors answering questions and encouraging newcomers to the movement.

Amy Hofer, Coordinator of statewide Open Education Library Services for Open Oregon.  Her work in Oregon promoting and documenting OER adoption throughout community colleges, leading research on aggregate cost savings, and facilitating student engagement has enriched the open education movement immensely.   Amy is unfailing in her support of the larger open education community always sharing her expertise about open education resources, how-tos for OER grant programs, research guidelines, and more.  We also recognize her as one of the TOP 5 contributors to our community email list.

Larry Green, Math department chair at Lake Tahoe Community College and leader of the California statewide effort for OpenMath and the MyOpenMath platform.  Larry has maintained an index to all the OER recommendations by discipline made on our CCCOER community email list for years.  This index has proven invaluable to our community members.  Larry’s willingness to share his knowledge and contribute his skills to open education are legendary throughout California and beyond.

Heather Ross, Educational Developer in Digital Pedagogies at the University of Saskatchewan and also a Research Fellow at the Open Education Group joined our CCCOER community email list several years ago.  She has continued to be one of our TOP 5 contributors inspite of working for a university rather than a community college. She and Rose Roberts, her colleague at University of Sasketchewan wrote a wonderful post on Indigenous cultures and Open Education for us this last summer.  She is a role model for reaching across the educational aisle as the open education movement grows to encompass all of K-20.

Tina Ulrich, Director of Library Services at Northwestern Michigan Community College and longtime community member from Michigan. Tina and her staff have contributed many valuable resources to our community over the years.  Not only is she a leader in the Michigan Community College Open Education Initiative but has been one of the TOP 5 responders on our Community email list always willing to share the great work they do at her college to support faculty adoption of OER.

Image: Niagara Falls Rosalba Tarazona CC-BY-SA 2.0

Image: Community Recognition Awards from R to L above: Quill West, Tina Ulrich, James Glapa-Grossklag, Amy Hofer, Una Daly.  Missing Larry Green, Heather Ross.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *